Jessica Mae Walters

Pre-Kindergarten Assistant Teacher &
Free Form Friday Lead Teacher

Where did you grow up?: Woodbury, CT

How long have you been working with children/teaching?: Working with- 3 years Volunteering/working with- 7 years

What led you to a career in education?: Studying human development and the brain in school, I was struck by how important our early years are. Being an educator I am humbled every day by the complexities and intricacies of each individual child’s growth, and I am empowered by my ability to nurture and encourage it. Much like planting one seed and watching it bloom into a field of wildflowers, providing our children with love and kindness can bring beauty to our world.

What draws you to the DCP cooperative community?: I appreciate the amount of intention behind a community built to support young children. I love that there is involvement of the family, community, and child on every level. There is a feeling of excitement and a sense of discovery in the air. Everyone is happy to be surrounded by one another. It’s beautiful.

What is your favorite thing to do in the classroom?: Help children’s ideas come to life! Watching a child take their passions from imagination to creation is a magical process.

What are your hobbies or passions outside of DCP?: I love to be outside camping, rock climbing, hiking, identifying wildflowers, and gardening. I also love cooking, baking, and going to the farmer’s market. I am very passionate about practicing yoga and living a lifestyle that considers my impact on the earth.

Where can we find you in Denver (favorite spots/hangouts/places to visit): South Pearl Street Farmer’s Market, Weathervane Cafe, City O City, The Ogden Theater, The Bluebird Theater, Natural Grocers

Tell us about your family: I have a mother, father, stepmother, an older brother, younger sister, a stepsister, and a stepbrother. My sister lives in Denver and my step siblings attend CU Boulder.

What did you want to be when you grew up?: At the age of 4 or 5 I decided I wanted to be a pediatrician. I’ve known since I was a child that I wanted to work with kids.

What do you remember most about being a young child?: Spending time in the woods with my grandma, making picnics out of leaves, listening for fairies in the garden, and hiding amongst the flowers.

What was your favorite thing to do as a child?: I always loved to read. I would get lost in fiction and still love to do it! It was always fun to make up my own stories too.

Anything else you want to add about yourself: I am really excited and grateful to be a part of the DCP community!