Liz Marceau

Free Form Friday Lead Teacher & Floater

Where did you grow up?: I grew up in a suburb just outside of Milwaukee, WI. I have been in Denver for 11 years now. It is hard for me to believe it has been that long! Apart from family and friends, the biggest thing I miss about home are all of the amazing bodies of water in Wisconsin.

How long have you been working with children/teaching?: Before teaching, I began my career as a Registered Nurse working in both Pediatrics and Mom/Baby. After Nursing, I transitioned into the world of teaching. This will be my my sixth year of teaching at DCP.

What led you to a career in education?: I feel most at home when I am working with children and families. Helping to support a healthy foundation of love and support for a child is something that I value greatly. Being a part of a child’s world as they grow, explore and make discoveries is such a rewarding experience for me. Teaching felt like a natural progression from the world of Nursing and was a wonderful fit as I began my own journey into parenthood.

What is your favorite thing about working at DCP?: My co-workers and the amazing community environment. This is a place for children and adults alike to thrive and be nourished.

What is your favorite thing to do in the classroom?: Reading, cooking, creating and experimenting with different materials and textures and exploring connections to nature.

What are your hobbies or passions outside of DCP?: Yoga, cooking/baking, sewing, gardening with my girls and home projects. We are currently building a backyard playhouse for our girls and I’m not sure who is more excited, me or them!

Where can we find you in Denver (favorite spots/hangouts/places to visit): Outside of spending time with my husband and my littles, my favorite place to frequent is the yoga studio. I always appreciate a great cup of coffee from a local coffee roaster. I also have a teeny tiny sewing business, so I like to hit up the local fabric shops looking for interesting new finds. And I always enjoy a good outing to the thrift store.

Tell us about your family: My husband, Josh (a DCP alumni), and I have two daughters. Our eldest, Chloe (5), started at DCP when she was one year old and is beginning Kindergarten this fall. Our youngest, Evie (3), will be in the 3’s/4’s classroom at DCP this year. We live in Applewood along with our large yellow lab, Joey.

What did you want to be when you grew up?: A Mom and a writer.

What do you remember most about being a young child?: Playing outside and having the opportunity to explore. My parents always encouraged my sister and I to investigate, get messy and take the time to appreciate and notice our surroundings. Nature was an abundant source of discovery for us as children.

What was your favorite thing to do as a child?: My sister and I spent nearly every waking minute in our backyard playhouse as kids. It allowed us the freedom to carve out a space that was all our own.