Sarah Conklin

Threes-Fours Lead Teacher – Monday/Wednesday/Friday

Where did you grow up?: Denver, Colorado

How long have you been working with children/teaching?: I have been teaching on and off since I was 19 (24 years yikes). I have taught gymnastics at The Denver School of Gymnastics, theater at the Arvada Center for Arts and Humanities,  5th grade at St. Rose of Lima  and ten years of preschool at Saint Catherine’s, Steele Cooperative and DCP.

What led you to a career in education?: My sweet husband.  When I met him, he was already teaching.  I was working for the theater and opera. I had graduated from college but had not completed my teaching license yet.  Brent inspired me to do that.

What is your favorite thing about working at DCP?:

DCP is 5 blocks from my house.  I love walking to school.  love all my friends here.  I love our community.  I love all the kids.

What is your favorite thing to do in the classroom?: I love to sing with the kids.  I love to do yoga with the kids.  I love to read to the kids.

What are your hobbies or passions outside of DCP?: I love to take my kids to the theater. I love to do yoga and work out. .  I love to sit outside with my family and neighbors.  I love talking to people.

Where can we find you in Denver (favorite spots/hangouts/places to visit):  My favorite place to be is at my gym Pura Vida. My husband and I love to tour the different breweries in Denver.

Tell us about your family: My husband Brent is the PE teacher at Cory Elementary.  He has  earned a school day named after him called  “Dress like Mr Conklin Day.”  My son Finnian is a baseball player and a freshman at East High School.    My oldest daughter Violet plays the piano and is a 6th grader at Kent Denver.  My youngest daughter is Daisy. She loves origami and all experiments.

What did you want to be when you grew up?: A soap opera actress or broadway star.

What do you remember most about being a young child?: Performing at The Original Scene. This theater was located in downtown Denver.  I spent lots of my childhood performing musical theater there.   I loved it.

What was your favorite thing to do as a child?:  I loved traveling to Chicago to visit my huge family there.  My mom (she is a retired OR nurse) has 8 brothers and sisters and my dad (he is a property manager and counselor) has seven.

Anything else you want to add about yourself: I am a Denver native…I married a Denver native.  My two siblings Josh and Cate  (also teachers) married Denver natives (Adrienne and Pat).  Between the 3 of us we have 12 kiddos (Finn, Ruth, Violet, Josephine, Daisy, Annie, Iggy ,Gus, Mary, Max, Jimmy and Leo)